On December 22nd, 2022, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed into legislation new gun insurance requirements, making the state’s gun rules some of the strictest in the U.S.
The legislation is a response to the U.S. Supreme Court’s 6-3 ruling in June 2022’s New York State Rifle & Pistol Association v. Bruen. The new ruling overturned an existing New York law that required residents to show proper cause to be granted concealed-carry permits.
This ruling also expanded gun rights and invalidated similar gun laws in California, Maryland, Massachusetts, Hawaii, and New Jersey.
According to the Governor, he disagrees with the Supreme Court decision but will abide by it. He added, “Today’s law fully respects the Second Amendment while keeping guns out of the wrong hands and preventing them from proliferating in our communities. I am proud to sign this commonsense legislation.”
Meanwhile, according to Everytown for Gun Safety, a nonprofit organization that advocates against gun violence, the new legislation makes New Jersey a national leader in strong gun laws. The only states that rank higher than New Jersey are California, New York, and Hawaii.
Here’s what you need to know under the new law:
What should your firearm insurance policy cover?
Under the new gun insurance requirements, every private citizen in New Jersey who wishes to carry a handgun in public must have liability insurance coverage of at least $300,000.
This insurance covers liabilities for bodily injury, property damage, and death arising from the ownership, maintenance, or use of a firearm in public.
How does this affect your application for a concealed-carry permit?
New Jersey applicants are required to keep proof of insurance with them whenever they are armed in public. Apart from this, there were several amendments to the permit application, which include:
- Four endorsement letters from non-relatives, up from the previous requirement of three
- $200 fee for the permit, up from the previous $50 fee.
- Interview with a law enforcement official
- Completion of gun safety and training classes
Who can apply for a concealed-carry permit?
The recently passed legislation included changes to the persons who are disqualified from carrying in public. Among those who cannot be granted a permit to carry includes:
- Individuals who have been confined over their mental health
- Individuals with felony convictions
- Individuals with a domestic violence restraining order
- Individuals wanted in other states for crimes
- Individuals who have threatened violence or harm
What places are you prohibited from bearing arms?
The law defines about 20 “sensitive” areas where concealed-carry permit holders cannot carry, including government buildings, schools, hospitals, casinos, bars, and concert halls. It also prohibits bringing firearms onto private properties like homes and shopping walls without the property owner’s consent.
When will the law take effect?
Some provisions of the law already took effect the moment the bill was signed into legislation, including the provision barring people from carrying guns in “sensitive” areas. Other provisions will take effect over the coming months, with the provision about liability insurance will be taking effect on June 2023.
Stay Compliant with New Jersey Gun Laws
Joseph Chiarello & Co. helps gun shop owners comply with all the gun laws and insurance requirements in the state with our commercial general liability insurance.
As a part of our gun liability insurance program, this type of policy offers coverage for customers or employees who may get hurt in your gun shop.
For more information, contact us at 800-526-2199.